Herbie Hancock – The New Standard

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The New Standard is the fortieth album by jazz pianist Herbie Hancock, released in 1996 on Verve. It consists of jazz renditions of classic and contemporaneous rock and R&B songs. It features an all-star sextet with saxophonist Michael Brecker, guitarist John Scofield, bassist Dave Holland, percussionist Don Alias and drummer Jack DeJohnette.

“… it is doubtful that any of these songs will ever become a jazz standard, Herbie Hancock has successfully created a memorable set of “new” music. Well worth investigating.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“New York Minute” (Don Henley, Danny Kortchmar, Jai Winding) – 8:35
“Mercy Street” (Peter Gabriel) – 8:36
“Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown)” (John Lennon, Paul McCartney) – 8:07
“When Can I See You” (Kenny “Babyface” Edmonds) – 6:17
“You’ve Got It Bad Girl” (Stevie Wonder, Yvonne Wright) – 7:15
“Love Is Stronger Than Pride” (Sade Adu, Andrew Hale, Stuart Matthewman) – 8:00
“Scarborough Fair” (Traditional) – 8:24
“Thieves in the Temple” (Prince) – 7:33
“All Apologies” (Kurt Cobain) – 5:08
“Manhattan (Island of Lights and Love)” (Herbie Hancock, Jean Hancock) – 4:06
“Your Gold Teeth II” (Donald Fagen, Walter Becker) – 5:14

Herbie Hancock – piano
Michael Brecker – tenor and soprano saxophone
John Scofield – acoustic and electric guitar, electric sitar
Dave Holland – acoustic bass
Jack DeJohnette – drums, electric percussion
Don Alias – percussion


Released: February 19, 1996
Recorded: June 14–16, 1995
Studio: Manhattan Center Studios, New York
Length: 77:15
Label: Verve
Producer: Guy Eckstine, Herbie Hancock