Herbie Hancock – Maiden Voyage (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Maiden Voyage is the fifth album led by jazz musician Herbie Hancock, and was recorded by Rudy Van Gelder on March 17, 1965 for Blue Note Records. It was issued as BLP 4195 and BST 84195. It is a concept album aimed at creating an oceanic atmosphere. Many of the track titles refer to marine biology or the sea, and the musicians develop the concept through their use of space and almost tidal dynamics. The album was presented with the Grammy Hall of Fame Award in 1999 (https://goo.gl/ocrrhg).

AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine:
Less overtly adventurous than its predecessor, Empyrean Isles, Maiden Voyage nevertheless finds Herbie Hancock at a creative peak. In fact, it’s arguably his finest record of the ’60s, reaching a perfect balance between accessible, lyrical jazz and chance-taking hard bop. By this point, the pianist had been with Miles Davis for two years, and it’s clear that Miles’ subdued yet challenging modal experiments had been fully integrated by Hancock. Not only that, but through Davis, Hancock became part of the exceptional rhythm section of bassist Ron Carter and drummer Tony Williams, who are both featured on Maiden Voyage, along with trumpeter Freddie Hubbard and tenor saxophonist George Coleman. The quintet plays a selection of five Hancock originals, many of which are simply superb showcases for the group’s provocative, unpredictable solos, tonal textures, and harmonies. While the quintet takes risks, the music is lovely and accessible, thanks to Hancock’s understated, melodic compositions and the tasteful group interplay. All of the elements blend together to make Maiden Voyage a shimmering, beautiful album that captures Hancock at his finest as a leader, soloist, and composer (https://goo.gl/zoeEbd).

Track listing:
All compositions by Herbie Hancock.

1. “Maiden Voyage” 7:53
2. “The Eye of the Hurricane” 5:57
3. “Little One” 8:43
4. “Survival of the Fittest” 9:59
5. “Dolphin Dance” 9:16

Herbie Hancock — piano
Freddie Hubbard — trumpet
George Coleman — tenor saxophone
Ron Carter — bass
Tony Williams — drums


Released: May 1965
Recorded: March 17, 1965
Studio Van Gelder Studio
Englewood Cliffs
Length: 42:20
Label: Blue Note
Producer: Alfred Lion