Harry Edison and Eddie Lockjaw Davis – Simply Sweets

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Simply Sweets is an album by trumpeter Harry Edison with saxophonist Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis, recorded in 1977 and released by the Pablo label the following year.

AllMusic reviewer Scott Yanow stated: “Trumpeter Harry “Sweets” Edison and tenor saxophonist Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis always made a potent pair. They both possessed immediately identifiable sounds, were veterans of Count Basie’s Orchestra and never had any difficulty swinging. The repertoire of this Edison album is not too creative … However, the playing of the principals holds one’s interest throughout”.

Track listing:
All compositions by Harry Edison except where noted

“Dirty Butt Blues” – 6:36
“Feelings” (Morris Albert) – 5:21
“One for the Count” – 5:27
“My Ideal” (Richard A. Whiting, Leo Robin, Newell Chase) – 5:42
“Simply Sweets” – 4:24
“Opus Funk” – 6:52
“Lax” – 3:19
“Miz Kitty’s Blues” – 7:50

Harry Edison – trumpet
Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis – tenor saxophone
Dolo Coker – piano
Harvey Newmark – bass
Jimmie Smith – drums


Released: 1978
Recorded: September 22, 1977
Studio: Group IV Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA
Length 45:31
Label: Pablo
2310 806
Producer: Norman Granz