Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis – Afro Jaws (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Afro-Jaws is an album by saxophonist Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis recorded in 1960 and released on the Riverside label.

“This set was a change of pace for tenor saxophonist Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis. Backed by three trumpeters (Clark Terry gets some solos), a rhythm section (pianist Lloyd Mayers, bassist Larry Gales and drummer Ben Riley) and a percussion section led by Ray Barretto, Lockjaw performs four compositions by Gil Lopez (who arranged all of the selections) plus “Tin Tin Deo,” “Star Eyes” and his own “Afro-Jaws.” The Afro-Cuban setting is perfect for the tough-toned tenor, who romps through the infectious tunes.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“Wild Rice” (Gil Lopez) – 4:53
“Guanco Lament” (Gil Lopez) – 5:18
“Tin Tin Deo” (Gil Fuller, Chano Pozo) – 5:10
“Jazz-A-Samba” (Gil Lopez) – 4:14
“Alma Alegre” (Gil Lopez) – 5:24
“Star Eyes” (Gene de Paul, Don Raye) – 6:20
“Afro-Jaws” (Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis) – 7:36

Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis – tenor saxophone
Clark Terry – flugelhorn, trumpet
John Ballo (tracks 3 & 4), Ernie Royal, Phil Sunkel – trumpet
Lloyd Mayers – piano
Larry Gales – bass
Ben Riley – drums
Ray Barretto – congas, bongos
Gil Lopez – arranger


Released: 1961
Recorded: May 4 & 12, 1960
New York City
Length: 39:00
Label: Riverside
RLP 373
Producer: Orrin Keepnews