George Freeman – New Improved Funk (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


New Improved Funk is an album by American jazz guitarist George Freeman recorded in 1973 and released on the Groove Merchant label.

“The title says it all in three words, but New Improved Funk demands further elucidation. It’s a fun house ride that veers sharply from funk to jazz to soul and back again, its scattershot approach nevertheless proves the best showcase George Freeman’s guitar ever had. Recorded with two separate backing groups, New Improved Funk sprawls all over the stylistic map, and virtually the only common denominator from track to track is Freeman’s guitar. He further confounds expectations with skronky solos and blissfully psychedelic interludes that go nowhere, but then the journey is more important than the destination here anyway. Somehow this mess still comes together, galvanized by Von Freeman’s fiery tenor sax and its undeniably impressive gutbucket grooves. Everything that it’s advertised to be.” – Jason Ankeny/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“New Improved Funk” (George Freeman) – 2:26
“Daffy” (George Freeman) – 3:34
“Happy Fingers” (George Freeman) – 4:30
“All in the Game” (Charles G. Dawes, Carl Sigman) – 4:31
“Big Finish” (George Freeman) – 6:25
“Guitar Lover Man” (George Freeman) – 3:16
“Good Morning Heartache” (Irene Higginbotham, Ervin Drake, Dan Fisher) – 5:02
“Some Enchanted Evening” (Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II) – 5:12
“Confirmed Truth” (George Freeman) – 4:14

George Freeman – guitar
Von Freeman – tenor saxophone
John Young − piano (tracks 3–5)
Bobby Blevins – organ (tracks 1, 2 & 6–8)
LeRoy Jackson – bass
Marion Booker (tracks 1, 2 & 6–8), Bob Guthrie (tracks 3–5) – drums


Released: 1973
Recorded: 1973
Studio New York City, NY
Length: 39:10
Label: Groove Merchant
GM 519
Producer: Sonny Lester