George Freeman – George the Bomb!(2019)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“After a career spanning seven decades legendary guitarist George Freeman continues to create captivating music in his own one-of-a-kind style. His 2019 George The Bomb, the release of which coincides with his 92nd birthday, is a unique blend of blues and other related genres delivered in a laid back and almost ethereal ambience. Joining him are longtime friends who are among the stalwarts of the Chicago music scene. The warm camaraderie among them gives the album a celebratory feel that is simultaneously enjoyable and satisfying.” – Chicago Jazz Magazine.

Track Listings:
1. George the Bomb! (5:47)
2. Gorgeous George (7:20)
3. Where’s the Cornbread? (7:22)
4. Tonto (5:57)
5. Help Me (7:29)
6. Uncle Funky (5:20)
7. The Music Goes ‘Round and Around (3:42)
8. Cha Cha Blue (3:43)
9. Home Grown Tomatoes (4:20)
10. Intimate (5:05)
11. Al Carter-Bey (3:14)

All tracks are original songs by George Freeman, © 2019 Porkpie Music BMI

(with the exception of “Help Me” by Ralph Bass, Sonny Boy Williamson II, and Willie Dixon (BMI) and “The Music Goes ‘Round and Around” by Edward Farley / Michael Riley / Red Hodgson (ASCAP).


  • George Freeman – electric guitar, vocals
  • Billy Branch – harmonica, vocals
  • John Devlin –  6-string electric bass, accordion, vocals
  • Luiz Ewerling – drums, percussion
  • Joanie Pallatto – vocals
  • Bradley Parker-Sparrow – piano


Original Release Date: April 2, 2019
Label: Southport Records

Producer: Joanie Pallatto & Bradley Parker-Sparrow

Recorded: August – December 2018, at Sparrow Sound Design Recording Studio, Chicago, IL