Elvin Jones – On The Mountain

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


On the Mountain is a jazz album by drummer Elvin Jones with keyboardist Jan Hammer and bassist Gene Perla recorded in 1975 and originally released on Perla’s PM label.

“This 1975 date for the brilliant drummer, with Jan Hammer on keyboards and bassist Gene Perla, is a minor, if somewhat overlooked, classic from the tail-end of the early ’70s to the mid-70s’ run of great jazz fusion releases. ” – Jim Todd/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“Thorn of a White Rose” (Jan Hammer) – 5:07
“Namuh” (Gene Perla) – 7:47
“On the Mountain” (Perla) – 4:37
“Smoke in the Sun” (Hammer) – 4:00
“London Air” (Hammer) – 5:29
“Destiny” (Perla) – 7:28

Elvin Jones – drums
Jan Hammer – piano, electric piano, synthesizer
Gene Perla – bass, electric bass


Released: 1975
Recorded: 1975
Studio: Red Gate Studio, Kent, New York
Length: 34:28
Label: PM Records
Producer: Arif Mardin