Duke Pearson – Merry Ole Soul

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Merry Ole Soul is a Christmas album by American jazz pianist and arranger Duke Pearson, featuring performances recorded in 1969 and released on the Blue Note label.

Track listing:
Sleigh Ride” (Leroy Anderson, Mitchell Parish) – 6:25
The Little Drummer Boy” (Katherine K. Davis, Henry Onorati, Harry Simeone) – 5:47
Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” (Ralph Blane, Hugh Martin) – 2:00
Jingle Bells” (James Pierpont) – 5:10
Santa Claus Is Coming to Town” (J. Fred Coots, Haven Gillespie) – 4:07
Go Tell It on the Mountain” (Traditional) – 3:44
Wassail Song” (Traditional) – 3:04
Silent Night” (Franz Gruber, Joseph Mohr) – 4:12
O Little Town of Bethlehem” (Phillips Brooks, Lewis Redner) – 1:14

Recorded at Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ on February 25 (track 1) & August 19 (tracks 2-9), 1969
A 2004 import CD reissue of the album on Toshiba EMI includes a bonus track, “An Old Fashioned Christmas”.

Duke Pearson – piano, celeste
Bob Cranshaw – bass (tracks 1-8)
Mickey Roker – drums (tracks 1-8)
Airto Moreira – percussion (tracks 2-8)


Released: 1969
Recorded: February 25 & August 19, 1969
Label: Blue Note
Producer: Duke Pearson