Duke Pearson – Wahoo (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Wahoo! is an album by American pianist and arranger Duke Pearson, featuring performances recorded in 1964 and released on the Blue Note label in 1964.

AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine:
A truly wonderful advanced hard bop date, Wahoo captures pianist Duke Pearson at his most adventurous and creative. With the exception of Donald Byrd’s closing “Fly Little Bird Fly,” Pearson wrote all of the material on this six-song album, and his compositions are clever, melodic, and unpredictable without being cloying or inaccessible. He has assembled a first-rate sextet to perform the material, enlisting trumpeter Byrd, tenor saxophonist Joe Henderson, bassist Bob Cranshaw, alto saxophonist/flautist James Spaulding, and drummer Mickey Roker. Even the subdued “Wahoo” and “ESP” search out new territory with their subtle themes and exploratory solo sections. The key to the success of Wahoo is that Duke Pearson is a gifted arranger, creating nimble, challenging arrangements that are accessible, but reveal more details upon each listen. As a pianist, he has moved beyond his initial Bud Powell influence and reveals new aspects of his technique. Henderson, Byrd, and Spaulding are equally impressive, helping elevate Wahoo to one of the finest sophisticated hard bop dates Blue Note released in the mid-’60s (https://goo.gl/rtU9cN).

Track listing:
All compositions by Duke Pearson, except as indicated

“Amanda” – 9:26
“Bedouin” – 9:30
“Farewell Machelle” – 2:48
“Wahoo” – 7:19
“ESP (Extrasensory Perception)” – 7:50
“Fly Little Bird Fly” (Donald Byrd) – 6:11

Duke Pearson – piano
Donald Byrd – trumpet (all tracks except #3)
James Spaulding – alto saxophone, flute (all tracks except #3)
Joe Henderson – tenor saxophone (all tracks except #3)
Bob Cranshaw – bass
Mickey Roker – drums


Released: 1964
Recorded: November 21, 1964
Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs
Length: 43:04
Label: Blue Note
BST 84191
Producer: Alfred Lion