Duke Ellington – Duke’s Big 4 (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Duke’s Big 4 is a studio album by American pianist, composer and bandleader Duke Ellington featuring a small group session with Joe Pass, Ray Brown and Louie Bellson recorded in January 1973 and released on the Pablo label in 1974.

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow:
One of Duke Ellington’s finest small group sessions from his final decade was this frequently exciting quartet date with guitarist Joe Pass, bassist Ray Brown and drummer Louie Bellson. Ellington’s percussive style always sounded modern and he comes up with consistently strong solos on such numbers as “Love You Madly,” “The Hawk Talks” and especially “Cotton Tail,” easily keeping up with his younger sidemen. Highly recommended (http://www.allmusic.com/album/the-dukes-big-four-mw0000649490).

Track listing:
All compositions by Duke Ellington except as indicated
“Cotton Tail” – 4:17
“The Blues” – 5:28
“The Hawk Talks” (Louie Bellson) – 5:10
“Prelude to a Kiss” (Ellington, Irving Gordon, Irving Mills) – 5:43
“Love You Madly” – 6:38
“Just Squeeze Me (But Please Don’t Tease Me)” (Ellington, Lee Gaines) – 6:07
“Everything But You” (Ellington, Don George, Harry James) – 5:19
Recorded in Los Angeles, California on January 8, 1973.

Duke Ellington – piano
Joe Pass – guitar
Ray Brown – bass
Louie Bellson – drums

Released: 1974
Recorded: January 8, 1973
Length: 38:41
Label: Pablo
Producer: Norman Granz