Count Basie – The Atomic Mr. Basie (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The Atomic Mr. Basie (originally called Basie, also known as E=MC2 and reissued in 1994 as The Complete Atomic Basie) is a 1958 album by Count Basie and his orchestra. The album is one of Basie’s most famous and is critically acclaimed. Allmusic gave it 5 stars, reviewer Bruce Eder saying “it took Basie’s core audience and a lot of other people by surprise, as a bold, forward-looking statement within the context of a big-band recording.” It is included in the book 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die, Will Fulford-Jones calling it “Basie’s last great record.” According to the 2015 site update of Acclaimed Music, it is the 6th most critically acclaimed album of 1958, the 25th most acclaimed of the 1950s, and the 837th most acclaimed of all time, based on an aggregation of hundreds of critics’ lists from around the world.

Track listing:
All songs composed and arranged by Neal Hefti except where noted.

1. “Kid from Red Bank” (Basie, Neal Hefti) 2:38
2. “Duet” 4:10
3. “After Supper” 3:22
4. “Flight of the Foo Birds” 3:21
5. “Double-O” 2:45
6. “Teddy the Toad” 3:40
7. “Whirlybird” 3:46
8. “Midnite Blue” 4:25
9. “Splanky” 3:35
10. “Fantail” 2:50
11. “Lil’ Darlin'”

Wendell Culley — trumpet
Snooky Young — trumpet
Thad Jones — trumpet
Joe Newman — trumpet
Henry Coker — trombone
Al Grey — trombone
Benny Powell — trombone
Marshal Royal — reeds
Frank Wess — reeds
Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis — reeds
Frank Foster — reeds
Charles Fowlkes — reeds
Count Basie — piano
Eddie Jones — bass
Freddie Green — guitar
Sonny Payne — drums
Neal Hefti — arrangements

Released: January 1958
Recorded: 21–22 October 1957
Studio: Capitol Studios
New York City
Length: 39:30
Label: Roulette
Producer: Teddy Reig