Coleman Hawkins / Lester Young – Classic Tenors

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“Although this LP is long out of print, its brilliant contents have since been reissued by Bob Thiele on a couple of his labels. Hawkins is featured on eight of the 12 selections. Half come from a fine session with trumpeter Bill Coleman, but the other four are of greatest interest, for they find the tenor saxophonist in a quartet with pianist Eddie Heywood, bassist Oscar Pettiford, and drummer Shelly Manne. Their rendition of “The Man I Love” has what is arguably Heywood’s finest solo, preceding a lengthy roaring statement by Hawkins. The other tracks (“Sweet Lorraine,” “Get Happy,” and “Crazy Rhythm”) are almost as special. In addition, this LP finishes off with an excellent session from tenor saxophonist Lester Young, trombonist Dickie Wells, and trumpeter Bill Coleman. Wells’ high-note trombone solo on “I’m Fer It Too” is a crackup.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.



Track listing:

A1 The Man I Love 5:03
A2 Sweet Loraine 4:16
A3 Get Happy 3:20
A4 Crazy Rhythm 3:12
A5 How Deep Is The Ocean 3:18
A6 Voodte 3:05
B1 Hello Babe 3:07
B2 Linger Awhile 3:03
B3 I Got Rhythm 4:08
B4 I’m Fer It Too 4:05
B5 Hawkins’ Barrel House 2:56
B6 Stumpy 3:17

Clarinet – Andy Fitzgerald (tracks: A5, A6, B5, B6)
Contrabass – Al Hall (tracks: B1 to B4), Oscar Pettiford (tracks: A1 to A6, B5, B6)
Drums – Jo Jones (tracks: B1 to B4), Shelly Manne (tracks: A1 to A6, B5, B6)
Guitar – Al Casey (tracks: A5, A6, B5, B6), Freddie Greene* (tracks: B1 to B4)
Piano – Eddie Heywood (tracks: A1 to A4), Ellis Larkins (tracks: A5, A6, B1 to B6)
Tenor Saxophone – Coleman Hawkins (tracks: A1 to A6, B5, B6), Lester Young (tracks: B1 to B4)
Trombone – Dickie Wells (tracks: B1 to B4)
Trumpet – Bill Coleman (2) (tracks: A5, A6, B1 to B6)


Label: Stateside – SL 10117
Format: Vinyl, LP, Mono, Compilation
Country: UK
Released: 1964