Chet Baker With Fifty Italian Strings (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Chet Baker with Fifty Italian Strings is an album by trumpeter Chet Baker which was recorded in Italy in 1959 and released on the Jazzland label.

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow:
In 1959 while in Italy, Chet Baker was showcased playing trumpet and (on five of the ten songs) singing a set of ballads while backed by a large string section. Fans will want this set but, due to the mundane string arrangements and the lack of variety, more general collectors should acquire his earlier jazz-oriented dates first. [Chet Baker with Fifty Italian Strings was reissued in 2006 with a bonus track.] (

Track listing:
“I Should Care” (Sammy Cahn, Axel Stordahl, Paul Weston) – 2:46
“The Song Is You” (Oscar Hammerstein II, Jerome Kern) – 3:16
“Goodbye” (Gordon Jenkins) – 2:30
“Angel Eyes” (Earl Brent, Matt Dennis) – 3:34
“Forgetful” (George Handy, Jack Segal) – 4:59
“Violets for Your Furs” (Dennis, Tom Adair) – 3:30
“When I Fall in Love” (Edward Heyman, Victor Young) – 4:32
“Autumn in New York” (Vernon Duke) – 2:26
“Street of Dreams” (Sam M. Lewis, Victor Young) – 2:41
“Deep in a Dream” (Eddie DeLange, Jimmy Van Heusen) – 4:30
Recorded in Milan, Italy on September 28 (tracks 2, 4, 7 & 10), September 29 (tracks 1, 3 & 8) and October 5 (tracks 5, 6 & 9), 1959.

Chet Baker – trumpet, vocals
Mario Pezzotta – trombone
Glauco Masetti – alto saxophone
Gianni Basso – tenor saxophone
Fausto Papetti – baritone saxophone
Giulio Libano – piano, celeste
Franco Cerri – bass
Gene Voctory – drums
Len Mercer – arranger, conductor
Unidentified string section

Released: 1960
Recorded: September 28 & 29 and October 5, 1959
Milan, Italy
Length: 34:44
Label: Jazzland
JLP 21