Charlie Byrd – Moments like this (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


This recording is a true gem in Charlie Byrd‘s extensive discography. What makes it special is that there is a de-emphasis on bossa nova (there are still a few tunes), freeing up Byrd to explore other styles such as Dixieland and blues. The results are often breathtaking thanks in no small part to the excellent contributions of clarinetist Ken Peplowski and drummer/vibist Chuck Redd. The latter’s vibraphone playing gives the quartet just the right amount of variety, making this a memorable and rewarding listen many times over. (AllMusic Review by Robert Taylor).

Track listing:
1 Little girls at play 4:00
2 Si Tu Vois Me Mere (I Remember When) 5:53
3 My Ideal 3:09
4 Rose Of The Rio Grande 2:50
5 Too Late Now 4:28
6 Rosetta 3:41
7 Russian Lullaby 4:36
8 As Long As I Live 4:13
9 Wang wang blues 3:20
10 Prelude To A Kiss 5:32
11 Soon 4:21
12 Polka Dots And Moonbeams 5:13
13 Moments like this 3:44
14 Don’t Explain 4:44

Bill Douglass (tracks: 1,2,4,7,9-14) – bass
Ken Peplowski – clarinet
Chuck Redd (tracks: 2,4,7,9-13) – drums
Charlie Byrd – guitar
Chuck Redd (tracks: 1,3,5,6,8,14) – vibraphone


Label: Concord Records ‎
Format: CD, Album, Stereo
Country: US
Released: 1994
Recorded: August 9, 1994 – August 10, 1994