Biréli Lagrène – Standards (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Standards is a studio album by French jazz guitarist Biréli Lagrène.

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow:
This is one of guitarist Bireli Lagrene’s better jazz albums of the 1990s. By this time he had pretty much discarded his original Django Reinhardt influence (even on “Nuages” he sounds nothing like Reinhardt) and he took time off from playing rock to perform a dozen familiar standards with bassist Niels Pedersen and drummer Andre Ceccarelli. Lagrene’s technique had been admirable from the start and on this studio session his own musical personality was allowed to come to the surface. Highlights include “Softly as in a Morning Sunrise,” “Autumn Leaves,” “Donna Lee” and “Ornithology.”

Track listing:
1. C’est si bon (Henri Betti) 6:43
2. Softly, As in a Morning Sunrise (Oscar Hammerstein II, Sigmund Romberg) 5:37
3. Days of Wine and Roses (Johnny Mercer, Henry Mancini) 5:20
4. Stella by Starlight (Ned Washington, Victor Young) 6:00
5. Smile (John Turner, Geoffray Parsons, Charles Chaplin) 5:56
6. Autumn Leaves (Jacques Prévert, Joseph Kosma) 4:57
7. Teach Me Tonight (Sammy Cahn, Gene de Paul) 6:03
8. Donna Lee (Miles Davis) 5:02
9. Body And Soul (Edward Heyman, Robert Sour, Frank Eyton, Johnny Green) 7:21
10. Ornithology (Charlie Parker, Benny Harris) 4:21
11. How Insensitive (Insensatez) (Vinícius de Moraes, Antônio Carlos Jobim) 7:10
12. Nuages (Django Reinhardt) 4:21

Biréli Lagrène – guitar
André Ceccarelli – drums
Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen – bass

Dominique Di Piazza – bass guitar (tracks: 12)


Released: June, 1992
Duration: 01:09:04
Recorded: June, 1992
Recording Location:
Studio Davout Recording, Paris, France

Label: Blue Note