Art Blakey and the Jazz Messengers – Moanin’

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Art Blakey and the Jazz Messengers, also called Moanin’, is a studio album by Art Blakey and the Jazz Messengers recorded on October 30, 1958 and released on Blue Note later that year.

The album was identified by jazz critic Scott Yanow as one of “17 Essential Hard Bop Recordings”. AllMusic gives it a five-star review, stating: “Moanin’ includes some of the greatest music Blakey produced in the studio with arguably his very best band. … ranks with the very best of Blakey and what modern jazz offered in the late ’50s and beyond.”

Track listing (Original release):
All tracks are written by Benny Golson, except as noted.

Side 1
1. “Moanin'” Bobby Timmons 9:35
2. “Are You Real” Benny Golson/Lee Morgan 4:50
3. “Along Came Betty” 6:12
Side 2
1. “The Drum Thunder (Miniature) Suite” 7:33
– “First Theme: Drum Thunder”
– “Second Theme: Cry a Blue Tear”
– “Third Theme: Harlem’s Disciples”

2. “Blues March” 6:17
3. “Come Rain or Come Shine” Harold Arlen/Johnny Mercer 5:49

Personnel (Art Blakey and the Jazz Messengers):
Lee Morgan – trumpet
Benny Golson – tenor saxophone
Bobby Timmons – piano
Jymie Merritt – bass
Art Blakey – drums

Released late: 1958
Recorded: October 30, 1958
Studio: Van Gelder Studio
Hackensack, New Jersey
Length: 40:16
Label: Blue Note
BLP 4003
Producer: Alfred Lion