Woody Herman Sextet – At The Roundtable

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


By 1959 Herman had broken up his Third Herd and was utilizing a sextet filled with important young players. This live LP from 1959 (the only recording of this group) finds him well-featured on both alto and clarinet with a band that also boasts trumpeter Nat Adderley, acoustic guitarist Charlie Byrd and Eddie Costa on piano and vibes. All 12 selections (mixing together standards and forgotten originals) have their enjoyable moments. A rare chance to hear Woody Herman as a key soloist in a small group (Scott Yanow/AllMusic).

Track listing:

A1 Black Nightgown
A2 Pea Soup
A3 Just A Child
A4 Petite Fleur
A5 Lullaby Of Birdland
A6 Inside Out
B1 The Swingin’ Shepherd Blues
B2 The Deacon And The Elder
B3 Princess “M”
B4 Moten Swing
B5 Early Autumn
B6 The Late Late Show


Clarinet, Alto Saxophone – Woody Herman
Trumpet – Nat Adderley
Drums – Jimmy Campbell
Guitar – Charlie Byrd
Piano – Eddie Costa
Bass – William Betts


Recorded: anuary 26, 1959 – February 1, 1959