Woody Allen And His New Orleans Jazz Band – Wild Man Blues

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“Woody Allen’s New Orleans jazz is a combination of mournful blues and lively syncopation played with raw spontaneity. His clarinet tone is downright edgy in the treble clef, although his low-register work is more soulful. He affects a decorative style with a vibrato frequently wide enough to drive a Mack truck through.

Five of the 15 tracks are from the books of past greats. Louis Armstrong’s “Hear Me Talkin’ to Ya” is a languid lament, Lillian Hardin Armstrong’s “Lonesome Blues” is delivered in an upbeat stop-tempo, and King Oliver’s “Dippermouth Blues” is rendered slow and easy. There’s musical breadth and depth to charts like Fats Waller’s “Come On and Stomp, Stomp, Stomp,” the prayer-like “Lead Me Savior,” and the title track. Eddie Davis (“The Manhattan Minstrel”) is the musical director, vocalist, and banjo player with the seven-piece band and pull-out trio.

Part of a tandem production, this CD features re-recorded selections from the video documentary of the same name. The session was played without rehearsal in a Manhattan church, the documentary’s music supplemented by additional tracks.” – PATRICIA MYERS/JazzTimes.

Track listing:

1. lonesome blues 0:00
2. dippermouth blues 3:44
3. after you’ve gone 6:34
4. martha {aka mazie} 12:38
5. lead me savior 16:43
6. swing a lullaby 20:02
7. last night on the back porch 24:47
8. shake that thing 27:34
9. yaaka hula hickey dula 31:08
10. in the evening 33:38
11. come on and stomp, stomp, stomp 38:14
12. wild man blues 43:03
13. hear me talkin’ to ya 46:38
14. pappy’s b flat blues 52:07

Eddy Davis – banjo
Greg Cohen – bass
Woody Allen – clarinet
Rob Garcia – drums
Cynthia Sayer (tracks: 14), Todd Robbins (3) (tracks: 2, 9, 12, 13) – piano
Jerry Zigmont – trombone
Simon Wettenhall (tracks: 2, 9, 12, 13, 14) – trumpet
Eddy Davis, The Manhattan Minstrel (tracks: 3, 7, 8, 10, 11, ) – vocals


Label: RCA Victor ‎– 09026-63353-2
Format: CD, Album
Country: US
Released: 1998