Wes Montgomery – The Incredible Jazz Guitar of Wes Montgomery

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The Incredible Jazz Guitar of Wes Montgomery is an album by the American jazz guitarist Wes Montgomery. Most of its tracks exemplify two of Montgomery’s distinguishing techniques: “thumb picking” and the use of octaves.

In 2017, the album was selected for the National Recording Registry by the Library of Congress as “culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant”.

The album is considered by many fans and critics to be the pinnacle of Montgomery’s recorded studio work. The Penguin Guide to Jazz selected it as part of its suggested “Core Collection”.

AllMusic critic Michael G. Nastos praised the album, writing: “Setting him apart from the rest, this recording established Montgomery as the most formidable modern guitarist of the era, and eventually its most influential…Montgomery is clearly talented beyond convention, consistently brilliant, and indeed incredible in the company of his sidemen, and this recording—an essential addition to every jazz guitarist fan’s collection—put him on the map.”

Track listing:
“Airegin” (Sonny Rollins) – 4:26
“D-Natural Blues” (Wes Montgomery) – 5:23
“Polka Dots and Moonbeams” (Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Burke) – 4:44
“Four on Six” (Montgomery) – 6:15
“West Coast Blues” (Montgomery) – 7:26
“In Your Own Sweet Way” (Dave Brubeck) – 4:53
“Mr. Walker” (Montgomery) – 4:33
“Gone With the Wind” (Allie Wrubel, Herb Magidson) – 6:24

Wes Montgomery – electric guitar
Tommy Flanagan – piano
Percy Heath – bass
Albert Heath – drums


Released: April 1960[1]
Recorded: January 26 & 28, 1960
Studio: Reeves Sound Studios, New York City
Length: 44:04
Label: Riverside/OJC
Producer: Orrin Keepnews