Urbie Green Septet – New Faces, New Sounds

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


A killer lost album from the early days of Blue Note – the original 10″ LP! Urbie Green‘s normally a snoozer to us, but this beautiful set of modernist bop tracks has him leading a septet with some other lively young players, including Jimmy Lyon, who we know, and many others who we don’t – like Doug Mettome, John Murtaugh, and Sam Staff. This is killer stuff from the days when the Blue Note image wasn’t so clearly formed as it was in the late 50s – the sound is great – with titles like “Johnbo Mambo”, “La Salle”, and “Incubator” – and the cover and packaging are stunning! (UA pressing, from the 70s – in great shape, save for one slightly bumped corner on the cover.) (https://www.dustygroove.com/item/750744).

Track listing:

A1) Incubator 0:00
A2) Skylark 4:43
A3) La salle 8:05

B1) Dansero 11:32
B2) Stairway to the stars 14:50
B3) Johnbo mambo 17:51


  • Doug Mettome – trumpet and baritone horn
  • Urbie Green – trombone
  • John Murtaugh – tenor saxophone
  • Sam Staff – baritone saxophone
  • J. Lyon – piano
  • D. Martucci – bass
  • J. Campbell – drums

Label: Blue Note ‎– BLP 5036
Released: 1953