The Henry Threadgill Sextet – Just the Facts and Pass the Bucket

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Just the Facts and Pass the Bucket is an album by Henry Threadgill released on the About Time label in 1983. The album features six of Threadgill’s compositions performed by Threadgill with Craig Harris, Olu Dara, Fred Hopkins, Diedre Murray, Pheeroan akLaff and John Betsch.

“Musically, this album is a marvel of collective creativity… Few bandleaders have managed to perform and record so consistently with the hyper-creative poetic vision and open-mindedness that characterize the 16 albums recorded by ensembles under the direction of Henry Threadgill between the years 1979 and 2001. Just the Facts and Pass the Bucket is among the best of the lot and is well worth seeking out.” – AllMusic review.



Track listing:
All compositions by Henry Threadgill

“Gateway” – 9:08
“Cover” – 7:09
“Black Blues” – 4:32
“Just the Facts and Pass the Bucket” – 4:25
“Cremation” – 6:04
“A Man Called Trinity Deliverance” – 8:34

Henry Threadgill – alto saxophone, baritone saxophone, clarinet, flute
Olu Dara – cornet
Craig Harris – trombone
Diedre Murray – cello
Fred Hopkins – bass
John Betsch – percussion
Pheeroan akLaff – percussion


Released: 1983
Recorded: March 22 & 23, 1983
Label: About Time