Stanley Clarke – Journey To Love (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Journey to Love is the third jazz funk fusion album by bass guitarist and multi-instrumentalist Stanley Clarke, accompanied by familiar musicians he has often worked with like George Duke and Chick Corea. Other legendary players on this record are John McLaughlin and Jeff Beck.

AllMusic Review by Daniel Gioffre:
It has often been said that Stanley Clarke did for the fretted electric bass in the 1970s what fellow virtuoso Jaco Pastorius did for the fretless. For any aspiring jazz-rock bassist coming up in the time between Bitches Brew and Feels So Good, Stanley’s innovative playing, which combined a distinctive slap-pop style with fluid finger-style work informed by his acoustic playing, was a required assignment. Although School Days, with its catchy signature song, is perhaps the most listened to of his albums, it is on Journey to Love, Clarke’s second solo offering for Columbia, that his muse is most confidently and persuasively displayed. He is assisted in this worthy endeavor by a whole carload of world-class talent. Jeff Beck shows up for two songs, the title track and the appropriately-titled “Hello Jeff.” His lead guitar is as expressive and unpredictable as ever, capable of bringing a smile to the face of the most jaded listener. Return to Forever bandmates Chick Corea and Lenny White also turn up, as well as fellow traveler Mahavishnu John McLaughlin. Not to be overlooked are the tremendous talents of keyboardist George Duke, drummer Steve Gadd, and guitarist David Sancious. The caliber of the musicians aside, Journey of Love is full of great tunes, great grooves, and absolutely amazing bass playing. Clarke moves from percussive slapping to almost guitaristic chording to full-speed improvising with bewildering ease. Make no mistake about it, this is one of the finest fusion albums to come out of the 1970s, and it is the single best demonstration of the skills and the sound that make Clarke one of the most important figures to ever pick up the instrument. (

Track listing:
All tracks composed by Stanley Clarke; except where indicated

“Silly Putty” (4:52)
“Journey to Love” (4:52)
“Hello Jeff” (5:16)
“Song to John, Part 1” (Clarke, Corea) (4:22)
“Song to John, Part 2” (Clarke, Corea) (6:09)
“Concerto for Jazz/Rock Orchestra, Parts 1-4” (14:25)

Stanley Clarke – electric bass, acoustic bass, organ, piccolo bass (first used by Stanley Clarke) with Maestro Synthesizer on “Concerto For Jazz/Rock Orchestra,” hand bells, tubular bells, gong, vocals
Jeff Beck – electric guitar on “Hello Jeff” and guitar solo on “Journey to Love”
Chick Corea – acoustic piano on “Song to John”
George Duke – organ, synthesizer, Moog synthesizer, keyboard, Arp Odyssey, clavinet, acoustic piano, electric piano, bells, vocals
Earl Chapin – brass horn
John Clark – brass horn
Jon Faddis – trumpet
Steve Gadd – drums, percussions
Tony Williams – drums on “Silly Putty”
Peter Gordon – brass horn
Tom “Bones” Malone – trombone
John McLaughlin – acoustic guitar on “Song to John”
Alan Rubin – trumpet
David Sancious – electric guitar, 12-string guitar
Lew Soloff – trumpet
David Taylor – trombone
Lenny White – drums on “Hello Jeff”
Wilmer Wise – brass horn

Released: 1975
Recorded: Electric Lady Studios, New York
Length: 39:21
Label: Nemperor Records
Producer: Ken Scott, Stanley Clarke