Stan Getz – Stan Getz and the Cool Sounds

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Stan Getz and the Cool Sounds is an album by saxophonist Stan Getz recorded at five sessions between 1953 and 1955 which was released on the Verve label in 1957.

“Stan Getz plays with five different lineups on the recordings from 1954 and 1955 featured on Stan Getz and the Cool Sounds. The cool-toned, mellow tenor saxophonist starts off with four tracks accompanied by pianist Lou Levy, bassist Leroy Vinnegar, and drummer Shelly Manne, with the easygoing swinger “Our Love Is Here to Stay” taking top honors. Valve trombonist Bob Brookmeyer is added to the mix for two quintet selections, both of which feature pianist John Williams anchoring two different rhythm sections. The very hot “Flamingo” finds Getz and Brookmeyer alternating choruses and engaging in intricate counterpoint, while Brookmeyer’s “Rustic Hop” cooks at an even higher temperature, with both players inspiring one another to the top of their respective games. Pianist Jimmy Rowles, drummer Max Roach, and bassist Bobby Whitlock back Getz in a swinging take of “Nobody Else But Me” and the overlooked chestnut “Down by the Sycamore Tree.” Trumpeter Tony Fruscella, who died far too young, takes Brookmeyer’s place in two works written by the underrated trumpeter and composer Phil Sunkel, the mid-tempo “Blue Bells” and the boogie-woogie-flavored “Roundup Time.”” – Ken Dryden/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“Of Thee I Sing” (George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin) – 4:07
“A Handful of Stars” (Jack Lawrence) – 3:17
“Love Is Here to Stay” (George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin) – 3:22
“Serenade in Blue” (Harry Warren, Mack Gordon) – 3:51
“Flamingo” (Ted Grouya, Edmund Anderson) – 7:30
“Blue Bells” (Phil Sunkel) – 7:09
“Roundup Time” (Sunkel) – 7:05
“Nobody Else But Me” (Jerome Kern, Oscar Hammerstein II) – 3:33
“Down by the Sycamore Tree” (Traditional) – 3:02
“Rustic Hop” (Bob Brookmeyer) – 3:45

Recorded in New York City on April 16, 1953 (track 10) and January 31, 1955 (tracks 6 & 7), and in Los Angeles, California on January 23, 1954 (tracks 8 & 9) and November 9, 1954 (track 5) and at Radio Recorders, Los Angeles, California on August 19, 1955 (tracks 1–4).

Stan Getz – tenor saxophone
Tony Fruscella – trumpet (tracks 6 & 7)
Bob Brookmeyer – valve trombone (tracks 5 & 10)
Lou Levy (tracks 1–4), Jimmy Rowles (tracks 8,9), John Williams (tracks 5,6,7 & 10) – piano
Bill Anthony (tracks 5–7),   (track 10), Leroy Vinnegar (tracks 1–4), Bob Whitlock (tracks 8 & 9) – bass
Frank Isola (tracks 5–7), Al Levitt (track 10), Shelly Manne (tracks 1–4), Max Roach (tracks 8 & 9) – drums


Released: 1957
Recorded: April 16, 1953, January 23 and November 9, 1954 and January 31 and August 19, 1955
Los Angeles, California and New York City
Label: Verve
MGV 8200
Producer: Norman Granz