Spike Robinson – The CTS Session

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“The odds were against this recording being half as rewarding as it turned out. The late saxophonist Spike Robinson, one of the last of the great Four Brothers-style cool-toned tenors, had originally planned a tribute to Stan Getz utilizing former Getz sidemen pianist John Williams, bassist Bill Crow, and drummer Frank Isola during a tour of England. At the last minute, Isola’s erratic health meant that he had to be replaced for the trip. In addition, Robinson’s tenor was stolen (and never found) during the tour and he had to get used to a borrowed horn. But despite those obstacles the recording is quite excellent, with Spike Robinson heard in prime form on a variety of standards (some better known than others) and such obscurities as Gene Ammons’ “Waterjug,” “If She Walked into My Life,” and John Williams’ “Have Blue Zoot, Will Travel.” The acoustic guitar of Louis Stewart is also an asset whenever he appears. Spike Robinson never made a bad recording and this is one of his finest ones.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.



Track listing:

1 You Say You Care 5:28
2 Smoke Gets In Your Eyes 7:10
3 Waterjug 5:51
4 Summer Night 5:11
5 If She Walked Into My Life 7:01
6 The Best Thing For You 5:22
7 Potluck 6:15
8 Nobody Else But Me 4:53
9 Have Blue Zoot, Will Travel 4:17
10 Soon It’s Gonna Rain 3:23
11 People Will Say We’re In Love 4:33


Acoustic Guitar – Louis Stewart (tracks: 6, 7, 9, 11)
Bass – Bill Crow
Drums – Pete Cater
Keyboards – John Williams (5)
Tenor Saxophone – Spike Robinson