Sonny Rollins – Our Man In Jazz (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Our Man in Jazz is an album by American saxophonist Sonny Rollins, released by RCA Victor featuring July 1962 performances by Rollins with Don Cherry, Bob Cranshaw, and Billy Higgins. These performances have been described as contrasting from Rollins’ previous style by moving to “very long free-form fancies, swaggering and impetuous”.

The CD reissue supplements the original LP’s three tracks with three tracks recorded in February of the following year, with Henry Grimes replacing Cranshaw on bass. These recordings originally appeared on 3 in Jazz (an LP also featuring performances by Gary Burton and Clark Terry).

Track listing:
Oléo” (Sonny Rollins) – 25:26
Dearly Beloved” (Jerome Kern, Johnny Mercer) – 8:17
Doxy” (Sonny Rollins) – 15:17
You Are My Lucky Star” (Nacio Herb Brown, Arthur Freed) – 3:46 (CD)
I Could Write a Book” (Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers) – 3:16 (CD)
There Will Never Be Another You” (Mack Gordon, Harry Warren) – 5:43 (CD)

Recorded at The Village Gate in New York City on July 27–30, 1962 (tracks 1-3) and February 20, 1963 (tracks 4-6).

Sonny Rollins – tenor saxophone
Don Cherry – cornet
Bob Cranshaw – bass
Billy Higgins – drums


Released: 1962
Recorded: July 27–30, 1962
February 20, 1963 Bonus tracks
Label: RCA Victor