Sonny Rollins – Now’s The Time (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Now’s the Time is a 1964 album by American jazz saxophonist Sonny Rollins, released by RCA Victor featuring performances by Rollins with Herbie Hancock, Thad Jones, Ron Carter, Bob Cranshaw and Roy McCurdy on several bebop tunes.

“In his playing on these standard forms throughout Now’s the Time! (RCA Victor, 1964), Sonny shows us how he mixes it up to keep his solos engaging: short phrases, long phrases, long tones, fast notes, space, melodies, intervallic structures, thematic development. He uses everything, and it keeps us interested. He never gets bogged down. He’s really on fire on this record.” – John Scofield/JazzTimes.

Track listing:
A1 Now’s The Time 0:00
A2 Blue ‘N’ Boogie 4:07
A3 I Remember Clifford 9:39
A4 Fifty-Second Street Theme 12:15
B1 St.Thomas 16:48
B2 Round Midnight 20:47
B3 Afternoon In Paris 24:50
B4 Four 27:36

Sonny Rollins – tenor saxophone
Herbie Hancock – piano (tracks 1, 4-6)
Thad Jones – cornet (tracks 4 & 5)
Ron Carter – bass (tracks 1, 6-8)
Bob Cranshaw – bass (tracks 2-5)
Roy McCurdy – drums


Released: 1964
Recorded: January 20, February 14, 18 & April 14, 1964
Label: RCA Victor