Sam Jones – The Bassist! (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The Bassist! is an album by jazz bassist Sam Jones recorded in 1979 and released on the Interplay label.

“Virtually all of Sam Jones’ occasional dates as a leader featured him in a purely supportive role with a medium-size all-star group. This set is a bit different, for Jones is often in the forefront, heading a trio also including pianist Kenny Barron (who switches to electric piano on one song) and drummer Keith Copeland. Barron is actually the dominant soloist during a program consisting of three originals by Jones, two by Barron and the opening Thelonious Monk tune “Rhythm-A-Ning,” although Jones has his spots. Well-played post-bop music (not yet reissued on CD) that is most significant for the contributions of Barron.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“Rhythm-a-Ning” (Thelonious Monk) – 5:27
“Lily” (Sam Jones) – 6:07
“Seascape” (Kenny Barron) – 7:02
“Tragic Magic” (Barron) – 6:02
“The Hymn of Scorpio” (Sam Jones) – 5:05
“Bittersweet” (Sam Jones) – 5:04

Sam Jones – bass
Kenny Barron – piano
Keith Copeland – drums


Released: 1979
Recorded: January 3, 1979
Studio: RPM Sound Studios, NYC
Label: Interplay
Producer: Toshiya Taenaka