Sam Jones – Changes & Things

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Changes & Things is an album by bassist and cellist Sam Jones which was recorded in 1977 and released on the Xanadu label.

The Allmusic review by Scott Yanow awarded the album 4 stars and stated: ” assist Sam Jones’ recordings as a leader have generally been underrated, but virtually every one of them is well-planned and recommended.”

Track listing:
All compositions by Sam Jones except as indicated

“Stablemates” (Benny Golson) – 6:59
“Miss Morgan” – 7:59
“Laverne Walk” (Oscar Pettiford) – 5:22
“Trane Changes” (Slide Hampton) – 7:29
“Sam’s Things” – 5:57
“Blue’s” (Blue Mitchell) – 7:58

Sam Jones – bass
Blue Mitchell – trumpet
Slide Hampton – trombone
Bob Berg – tenor saxophone
Barry Harris – piano
Louis Hayes – drums


Released: 1978
Recorded: September 14, 1977
New York City
Label Xanadu
Produce:r Don Schlitten