Roy Haynes With Booker Ervin – Cracklin’ (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Cracklin‘ is an album recorded by American jazz drummer Roy Haynes with tenor saxophonist Booker Ervin in 1963 for the New Jazz label.

“Most of drummer Roy Haynes’ dates as a leader put the focus on a star soloist. For this CD reissue, Haynes is joined by pianist Ronnie Mathews, bassist Larry Ridley, and the great tenor Booker Ervin. Ervin’s unique sound, soulful yet very advanced, is well showcased on “Under Paris Skies” and originals by Mathews, Haynes, and Randy Weston (“Sketch of Melba”), along with his own “Scoochie.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“Scoochie” (Booker Ervin) – 5:53
“Dorian” (Ronnie Mathews) – 6:48
“Sketch of Melba” (Randy Weston) – 7:37
“Honeydew” (Mathews) – 3:46
“Under Paris Skies” (Hubert Giraud) – 7:40
“Bad News Blues” (Roy Haynes) – 6:49

Roy Haynes – drums
Booker Ervin – tenor saxophone
Ronnie Mathews – piano
Larry Ridley – bass


Released: 1963
Recorded: April 6, 1963
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
Length: 40:53
Label: New Jazz
NJLP 8286
Producer: Ozzie Cadena