Booker Ervin – The Blues Book (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The Blues Book is an album by American jazz saxophonist Booker Ervin featuring performances recorded in 1964 for the Prestige label.

The Allmusic review by Scott Yanow awarded the album 4½ stars and stated “The consistently passionate Ervin makes each of the fairly basic originals sound fresh and the performances are frequently exciting inside/outside music.”

Track listing:
All compositions by Booker Ervin.

Eerie Dearie” – 14:30
One for Mort” – 6:24
No Booze Blooze” – 15:26
True Blue” – 5:07

Booker Ervin – tenor saxophone
Carmell Jones – trumpet
Gildo Mahones – piano
Richard Davis – bass
Alan Dawson – drums

Released: 1964
Recorded: June 30, 1964
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs
Length: 41:27
Label: Prestige
PRLP 7340
Producer: Don Schlitten