Ron Miles – Old Main Chapel

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The brilliant and beloved cornetist and composer Ron Miles released his Blue Note debut Rainbow Sign in 2020 shortly before his tragic death in 2022 from a rare blood disorder. His legacy is honored with the release of Old Main Chapel, a recording that captures a sublime live performance by Miles’ trio with guitarist Bill Frisell and drummer Brian Blade in 2011 at Old Main Chapel in Boulder, Colorado. The 7-song set featured 6 of Miles’ indelible originals along with a cover of “There Ain’t No Sweet Man that’s Worth the Salt of My Tears.” The CD package includes heartfelt remembrances by Frisell, Blade, pianist and frequent collaborator Jason Moran, Blue Note President Don Was, and Ron’s daughter Justice Miles.

Track listing:
1 Mr. Kevin 11:55
2 There Ain’t No Sweet Man That’s Worth The Salt Of My Tears 12:30
3 Guest Of Honor 10:14
4 Queen B 12:34
5 Rudy-Go-Round 13:03
6 I Will Be Free 6:37
7 New Medium 11:08


Ron Miles – trumpet
Bill Frisell – guitar
Brian Blade – drums


Live recording on May 10. 2011 – Old Main Chapel, Boulder, Colorado

Label: Blue Note