Ray Bryant – Slow Freight (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Slow Freight is an album by pianist Ray Bryant released by Cadet Records in 1967.

“A killer album by soul jazz pianist Ray Bryant! The title track, “Slow Freight”, is an amazing 10-minute groover that moves at a very slow pace (just like a freight train), and which features some very cool ad-lib talking by Paul Serrano – a pretty groovy touch that really adds a lot to the track! Ray’s piano is in the lead, with a sinister soulful groove – and he’s backed by his patented two-trumpet rhythm sound, played here by Art Farmer and Snookie Young – blasting away with a tightly vamping approach that’s really in the groove. The rest of the record’s great too – and other tracks include “The Fox Stalker” and “Return Of The Prodigal Son”. One of Ray’s best ever!” – Dusty Groove.

Track listing:
“Slow Freight” (Ray Bryant, Esmond Edwards) – 9:41
“Amen” (Donald Byrd) – 4:51
“Satin Doll” (Duke Ellington) – 6:50
“If You Go Away” (Jacques Brel, Rod McKuen) – 4:55
“Ah, the Apple Tree (When the World Was Young)” (Philippe-Gérard, Johnny Mercer) – 3:30
“The Return of the Prodigal Son” (Harold Ousley) – 5:03
“The Fox Stalker” (Bryant) – 3:32

Ray Bryant – piano
Art Farmer, Snooky Young – trumpet, flugelhorn
Richard Davis – bass
Freddie Waits – drums


Released: 1967
Recorded: December 8, 1966
Studio: RCA Studios, New York City, NY
Length: 39:11
Label: Cadet
Producer: Esmond Edwards