Ralph Moore – Round Trip (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Round Trip is the debut album led by saxophonist Ralph Moore which was recorded in 1985 and released on the Reservoir label in 1987.

“The feel of this set (the debut as a leader by tenor saxophonist Ralph Moore) is very much in the style of Art Blakey’s Jazz Messengers. That should not be a surprise, for even though Moore did not play with Blakey (the closest he came was with Horace Silver), trumpeter Brian Lynch and pianist Benny Green certainly did. With guitarist Kevin Eubanks, bassist Rufus Reid and drummer Kenny Washington completing the sextet, Moore leads the band through two originals, Eubanks’ “Round Trip,” and Lynch’s “Back Room Blues,” and a pair of jazz standards. A fine hard bop date and an excellent start to Ralph Moore’s solo career.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“Dunes” (Ralph Moore) – 6:30
“Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered” (Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart) – 6:08
“Round Trip” (Kevin Eubanks) – 5:07
“Lotus Blossom” (Kenny Dorham) – 6:04
“Monique” (Ralph Moore) – 6:25
“Back Room Blues” (Brian Lynch) – 6:56
“Sleigh Ride” (Leroy Anderson) – 5:13

Ralph Moore – tenor saxophone
Brian Lynch – trumpet
Kevin Eubanks – guitar
Benny Green – piano
Rufus Reid – bass
Kenny Washington – drums


Released: 1987
Recorded: December 21, 1985
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Length: 42:23
Label Reservoir
RSR 104
Produce:r Mark Feldman