Jimmy Heath – New Picture (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


New Picture is an album by saxophonist Jimmy Heath featuring performances recorded in 1985 and released on the Landmark label.

“Ten years after his most recent set as a leader, Jimmy Heath (heard here on tenor and soprano) finally had another opportunity to lead an album of his own. This date, reissued on CD, finds Heath playing in a largely unchanged style from his earlier days, although some of his freer flights hint slightly at the avant-garde. With strong support given by pianist Tommy Flanagan, guitarist Tony Purrone (an alumnus of the Heath Brothers), bassist Rufus Reid and drummer Al Foster, Heath performs four originals, “Lush Life,” and Charlie Parker’s “Dewey Square,” and “Sophisticated Lady.” Three numbers add two French horns, a trombone and a tuba to the ensembles for color; Heath provided the arrangements. A tasteful and swinging effort.”- Scott Yanow/AllMusic .

Track listing:
All compositions by Jimmy Heath except as indicated

New Picture” – 5:00
“Lush Life” (Billy Strayhorn) – 8:06
“Changes” – 5:59
“Keep Love Alive” – 5:21
“Dewey Square” (Charlie Parker) – 4:05
“Sophisticated Lady” (Duke Ellington, Irving Mills, Mitchell Parish) – 6:44
“Togetherness” – 5:10

Jimmy Heath – tenor saxophone, soprano saxophone
John Clark, Bobby Routch – French horn (tracks 2, 4 & 6)
Benny Powell – trombone (tracks 2, 4 & 6)
Howard Johnson – tuba (tracks 2, 4 & 6)
Tony Purrone – guitar
Tommy Flanagan – Rhodes piano (tracks 3 & 4)
Rufus Reid – bass


Released: 1985
Recorded: June 18 & 20, 1985
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Length: 44:51
Label: Landmark
Producer: Jimmy Heath & Orrin Keepnews