Nat Adderley – Little Big Horn (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Little Big Horn (also released as Natural Soul) is an album by jazz cornetist Nat Adderley released on the Riverside label featuring performances by Adderley with Junior Mance, Kenny Burrell/Jim Hall Bob Cranshaw, and Mickey Roker.

“This lesser-known set by Nat Adderley (reissued on CD in the Original Jazz Classics in 1999) teams the likable cornetist with either Jim Hall or Kenny Burrell on guitar and the Junior Mance Trio (which consists of pianist Mance, bassist Bob Cranshaw and drummer Mickey Roker). Nat wrote all eight selections and, even though none would catch on (a la “Work Song”), several of the numbers are quite memorable and are deserving of revival. “Loneliness” sounds properly desolate, “Roses for Your Pillow” is a superior ballad and most of the other songs are filled with joy, including “El Chico,” “Half-Time” and “Broadway Lady.” A fine obscurity recorded at a time when Nat was one of the stars of his brother Cannonball Adderley’s Sextet.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:

All compositions by Nat Adderley 

“El Chico” – 6:42
“Foo Foo” – 4:11
“Loneliness” – 4:14
“Little Big Horn” – 5:20
“Half-Time” – 4:48
“Broadway Lady” – 4:19
“Roses for Your Pillow” – 5:11
“Hustle With Russell” – 4:20

Recorded in New York City on September 23, 1963 (tracks 2-4 & 8) and October 4, 1963 (tracks 1 & 5-7)

Nat Adderley – cornet
Junior Mance – piano
Jim Hall (tracks 1 & 5-7), Kenny Burrell (tracks 2-4 & 8) – guitar
Bob Cranshaw – bass
Mickey Roker – drums


Released: 1963
Recorded: September 23 & October 4, 1963
Length: 39:05
Label: Riverside