Muhal Richard Abrams – Blues Forever (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Blues Forever is an album by Muhal Richard Abrams released by the Italian label Black Saint in 1982 and featuring performances of seven of Abrams compositions by an eleven-member big band.

“Tremendous large orchestra session, with Abrams heading a crew that includes the cream of ’70s and ’80s improvisers, plus some ’60s survivors. Although every arrangement doesn’t click, the band successfully romps and stomps through enough cuts to show that the big band sound doesn’t just mean “ghost” groups recreating dusty numbers from the ’30s and ’40s.” – Ron Wynn/AllMusic.

Track listing:
All compositions by Muhal Richard Abrams
“Ancient and Future Reflections” – 6:46
“Du King” (Dedicated to Duke Ellington) – 2:00
“Chambea” – 7:30
“Duet for One World” – 4:53
“Blues Forever” – 9:01
“Cluster for Many Worlds” – 5:02
“Quartet to Quartet” – 7:09

Muhal Richard Abrams – piano, conductor
Baikida Carroll – trumpet, flugelhorn
Craig Harris – trombone
Wallace Leroy McMillan – baritone saxophone, flute
Jimmy Vass – alto saxophone, flute
Eugene Ghee – tenor saxophone, clarinet
Vincent Chancey – French horn
Howard Johnson – tuba, baritone saxophone
Jean-Paul Bourelly – guitar
Michael Logan – bass
Andrew Cyrille – drums


Released: 1982
Recorded: July 20, 21, 27, 1981
Studio: Barigozzi Studio, Milan
Length: 42:21
Label: Black Saint
Producer: Giovanni Bonandrini