Milt Jackson and Oscar Peterson – Ain’t But A Few Of Us Left (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Ain’t But a Few of Us Left is an album by jazz musicians Milt Jackson and Oscar Peterson, released in 1981.

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow:
Despite the pessimistic title, all of the members of this particular quartet (vibraphonist Milt Jackson, pianist Oscar Peterson, bassist Ray Brown and drummer Grady Tate) were still active into the mid-’90s. The music is unsurprising but still quite enjoyable and virtuosic as Bags and Co. perform blues, standards and ballads with their usual swing and bop-based creativity. Highlights include the title cut, “Stuffy,” “What Am I Here For” and a vibes-piano duo version of “A Time for Love.” (

Track listing:
“Ain’t But a Few of Us Left” (Milt Jackson) – 7:26
“Stuffy” (Coleman Hawkins) – 5:59
“A Time for Love” (Johnny Mandel, Paul Francis Webster) – 5:57
“Body and Soul” (Edward Heyman, Robert Sour, Frank Eyton, Johnny Green) – 5:56
“If I Should Lose You” (Ralph Rainger, Leo Robin) – 8:02
“What Am I Here For?” (Duke Ellington, Frankie Laine) – 6:20

Milt Jackson – vibraphone
Oscar Peterson – piano
Ray Brown – double bass
Grady Tate – drums

Released: 1981
Recorded: November 30, 1981
Length: 39:40
Label: Pablo
Producer: Norman Granz