Miles Davis Quintet – Miles Smiles (Reissue)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Miles Smiles is an album by jazz trumpeter Miles Davis, released in January 1967 on Columbia Records. It was recorded by Davis and his second quintet at Columbia 30th Street Studio in New York City on October 24 and October 25, 1966. It is the second of six albums recorded by Davis’s second great quintet, which featured saxophonist Wayne Shorter, pianist Herbie Hancock, bassist Ron Carter, and drummer Tony Williams.

“…this quintet was never better than they are here, when all their strengths are in full bloom.” – Stephen Thomas Erlewine/AllMusic.

“Miles Smiles is the pinnacle of the acoustic jazz of any sort and one of the ultimate testaments to the true strength of the Second Great Quintet and its leader.” – Nenad Georgievski/All About Jazz.

Track listing:
Side one
No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Orbits” Wayne Shorter 4:37
2. “Circle” Miles Davis 5:52
3. “Footprints” Wayne Shorter 9:46
Side two
1. “Dolores” Wayne Shorter 6:20
2. “Freedom Jazz Dance” Eddie Harris 7:13
3. “Ginger Bread Boy” Jimmy Heath 7:43

Miles Davis – trumpet
Wayne Shorter – tenor saxophone
Herbie Hancock – piano
Ron Carter – double bass
Tony Williams – drums


Released: February 16, 1967
Recorded: October 24–October 25, 1966
Studio Columbia 30th Street Studio in New York City
Length: 41:44
Label: Columbia
Producer: Teo Macero