Thad Jones / Mel Lewis – Consummation (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Consummation is an album by the Thad Jones/Mel Lewis Jazz Orchestra. It was released in 1970 on Blue Note Records and re-released in 2002.  The album was nominated for a 1970 Grammy award in the “Best Jazz Performance – Large Group…” category.

Track listing:
All compositions and arrangements are by Thad Jones.

LP side A:

Dedication” – 5:13
It Only Happens Every Time” – 3:07
Tiptoe” – 6:42
A Child Is Born” – 4:09
Us” – 3:37

LP side B:

Ahunk Ahunk” – 7:57
Fingers” – 10:38
Consummation” – 5:09

Thad Jones – flugelhorn
Snooky Young – trumpet
Danny Moore – trumpet
Al Porcino – trumpet
Marvin Stamm – trumpet
Eddie Bert – trombone
Benny Powell – trombone
Jimmy Knepper – trombone
Cliff Heather – bass trombone
Jerome Richardson – soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, flute, alto flute
Jerry Dodgion – alto saxophone, clarinet, flute, alto flute
Billy Harper – tenor saxophone, flute
Eddie Daniels – tenor saxophone, clarinet, flute
Richie Kamuca – baritone saxophone (tracks A1, 2, 3, 5, B3), clarinet
Pepper Adams – baritone saxophone (tracks A4, B1)
Joe Farrell – baritone saxophone (track B2)
Roland Hanna – acoustic piano, electric piano
Richard Davis – acoustic bass, electric bass
Mel Lewis – drums
Jimmy Buffington (French horn, tracks A1, B3)
Earl Chapin (French horn, tracks A1, B3)
Dick Berg (French horn, tracks A1, B3)
Julius Watkins (French horn, tracks A1, B3)
Howard Johnson (tuba, tracks A1, B3)
David Spinozza (guitar, tracks A5, B1)


Released: 1970
Recorded: A&R Studios, New York City, 1970 January, May
Length: 46:32
Label: Solid State (Blue Note)
Producer: Sonny Lester