McCoy Tyner – Trident

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Trident is a 1975 album by jazz pianist McCoy Tyner, his eighth to be released on the Milestone label. It was recorded in February 1975 and features performances by Tyner with bassist Ron Carter and his former John Coltrane bandmate, drummer Elvin Jones.

In a 4.5 out of 5 stars review, Scott Yanow of AllMusic wrote “Pianist McCoy Tyner’s first full-length trio album since 1964 was one of his most popular… this set finds Tyner in peak form”.



Track listing:
All compositions by McCoy Tyner except as indicated

“Celestial Chant” – 7:00
“Once I Loved” (de Moraes, Gilbert, Jobim) – 7:53
“Elvin (Sir) Jones” – 5:27
“Land of the Lonely” – 7:33
“Impressions” (Coltrane) – 5:03
“Ruby, My Dear” (Monk) – 7:51

McCoy Tyner – piano (all tracks), harpsichord (tracks 1 & 4), celeste (tracks 2 & 4)
Ron Carter – bass
Elvin Jones – drums


Released: 1975
Recorded: February 18–19, 1975
Studio: Fantasy Studios, Berkeley
Length: 40:47
Label: Milestone
MSP 9063
Producer: Orrin Keepnews