McCoy Tyner – Fly With the Wind

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Fly with the Wind is a 1976 album by jazz pianist McCoy Tyner, his ninth to be released on the Milestone label. It was recorded in January 1976 and features performances by Tyner with a trio, woodwinds and a full string section.

The AllMusic review by Scott Yanow states that the album “…has plenty of memorable moments and is a surprising but logical success; Tyner’s orchestral piano blended with the strings very well.” The 2008 CD reissue added two alternate takes as bonus tracks.



Track listing:
“Fly with the Wind” – 8:30
“Salvadore de Samba” – 12:13
“Beyond the Sun” – 5:33
“You Stepped out of a Dream” (Brown, Kahn) – 6:55
“Rolem” – 5:43
“Beyond the Sun” [alternate take] – 5:08 Bonus track on 2008 reissue
“Rolem” [alternate take] – 5:15 Bonus track on 2008 reissue

All compositions by McCoy Tyner except as indicated
Recorded at Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, CA, January 19, 20 & 21, 1976

McCoy Tyner – piano
Ron Carter – bass
Billy Cobham – drums
Hubert Laws – flute, alto flute
Paul Renzi – piccolo, flute
Raymond Duste – oboe
Stuart Canin – violin
Franklin Foster – violin
Daniel Kobialka – violin
Peter Schaffer – violin
Edmund Weingart – violin
Myra Bucky – violin (tracks 1 & 3)
Mark Volkert – violin (tracks 4 & 5)
Selwart Clarke – viola
Daniel Yale – viola
Sally Kell – cello
Kermit Moore – cello
Linda Wood – harp
Guilherme Franco – tambourine


Released: 1976
Recorded: January 19–21, 1976
Genre Jazz, third stream
Length: 38:44
Label: Milestone
Producer: Orrin Keepnews