Maynard Ferguson – Newport Suite (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Newport Suite is an album released by Canadian jazz trumpeter Maynard Ferguson featuring tracks recorded in 1960 and originally released on the Roulette label.

The Allmusic review by Ken Dryden awarded the album 4½ stars and stated that “this is one of the trumpeter’s very best LPs.”.

Track listing:
“Jazz Bary” (Willie Maiden) – 4:25
“Foxy” (Slide Hampton) – 5:10
“Newport” (Hampton) – 9:32
“Got the Spirit” (Hampton) – 3:50
“Sometimes I Feel Like a Motherless Child” (Traditional) – 2:54
“Ol’ Man River” (Jerome Kern, Oscar Hammerstein II) – 6:58
“Three More Foxes” (Maiden) – 8:00

Maynard Ferguson – trumpet, valve trombone, baritone horn
Don Ellis, Augustino ‘Chet’ Ferretti, Rick Kiefer – trumpet
Charles Greenlee, Mike Zagatini – trombone
Jimmy Ford – alto saxophone
Joe Farrell, Willie Maiden – tenor saxophone
Frank Hittner – baritone saxophone
Jaki Byard – piano
Aubrey Tosin – bass
Stu Martin – drums
Slide Hampton, Willie Maiden – arranger


Released: 1960
Recorded: March 15, 16 & 22, 1960
Capitol Studios, New York City
Length: 40:49
Label: Roulette
R 52047
Producer: Teddy Reig