Marcus Miller – Laid Black

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Laid Black is a studio album by Marcus Miller. It was released on June 1, 2018 by Blue Note Records. Laid Black was nominated for Best Contemporary Instrumental Album at the 61st Annual Grammy Awards. The album features collaborations with Trombone Shorty, Jonathan Butler, Take 6, Selah Sue, Kirk Whalum & Alex Han.

Track listing:
All songs written by Marcus Miller, except where noted.
1. “Trip Trap” 6:59
2. “Que Sera, Sera” Ray Evans, Jay Livingston 6:04
3. “7-T’s” Alex Blake, Marcus Miller 5:56
4. “Sublimity” Alex Han, Brett Williams, Marcus Miller 6:44
5. “Untamed” Charles Haynes, Mitch Henry, Brett Williams, Marcus Miller 4:48
6. “No Limit” 5:36
7. “Someone To Love” 4:42
8. “Keep ‘Em Running” Eddie Del Barrio, Larry Dunn, Maurice White, Marcus Miller 5:19
9. “Preacher’s Kid” 7:43

Marcus Miller – vocals, electric bass, bass clarinet, keyboards, guitar, alto sax, percussion
Selah Sue – vocals on 2
Trombone Shorty – trombone on 3
Alex Bailey – percussion
Jonathan Butler – vocals, guitar on 4
Alex Han – alto saxophone on 9
Kirk Whalum – flute, tenor saxophone on 9
Take 6 – vocals on 9
Louis Cato – vocals, drums
Honey Larochelle – vocals
Julian Miler – vocals
Charles Haynes – drums
Adam Agati – guitar
Brian Culbertson – trombone
Cliff Barnes – piano
Russell Gunn – trumpet
Marquis Hill – trumpet
Patches Stewart – trumpet
Mitch Henry – keyboards
Brett Williams – keyboards


Released: June 1, 2018
Bailey Music Studio (Las Vegas, NV)
Buckjump Studios (New Orleans, LA)
Dockside Studios (Lafayette, LA)
Golson Studios (Philadelphia, PA)
Hannibal Studios (Santa Monica, CA)
Jonathan Butler Studio (Calabasas, CA)
Lofi Studio (Boston, MA)
Sear Sound (New York, NY)
Synergy Studios (Seattle, WA)
The Village (Los Angeles, CA)
Length: 53:56
Label: Blue Note
Producer: Marcus Miller, Henry Martin Jr., Brenda Miller