Konitz / Rava Quartet – L’Age Mür

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“The dry-toned and very individual-sounding alto saxophonist Lee Konitz recorded frequently for the Italian label Philology during the 1990s, and this quartet session with avant-garde trumpeter Enrico Rava, bassist Rosario Bonaccorso, and drummer Massimo Manzi is a first-rate affair, though primarily in a straight-ahead setting. On most tracks, the co-leaders generally take turns exchanging solos of no more than a chorus or two in length, with pulsing but never dull support underneath by Bonaccorso and Manzi. “What’s New” is played as a quasi-bossa nova, and “Cherokee” becomes a catchy samba; while “Cherokee” and “I’ll Remember April” follow more predictable routes, though both are played with a lot of passion. Each musician also contributes an original: Konitz supplies an inventive march in which his alto and Rava’s muted horn share a unison line before the exciting solos begin, while Rava’s title track has a somewhat wandering theme but some of his best playing on the date. This very enjoyable CD is warmly recommended.” – Ken Dryden/AllMusic.

Track listing:

[00:00] 1. What’s New
[07:22] 2. Thingin’
[17:13] 3. Cherokee
[27:12] 4. Darn That Dream
[34:44] 5. I’ll Remember April
[47:23] 6. L’age Mür
[55:14] 7. Solar

Lee Konitz – alto saxophone
Enrico Rava – trumpet, flugelhorn
Rosario Bonaccorso – bass
Massimo Manzi – drums


Released: April 7, 1998
Label: Philology
Format: CD
Duration: 01:04:52
Country: Italy