Krzysztof Komeda – Crazy Girl (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“Discovering things again after many years is really very useful. Assaulted by fresh and new events and impressions we are losing a clear vision of the bygones that grew dim in our memory. This disc will help you to discover the early but mature years of Krzysztof Komeda. The time is 1960 and Komeda had behind him some four years of professional jazz playing and striving for perfection mainly as a pianist. It brought obvious results and fortunately some recordings were made than we can enjoy now. A trio, as everybody knows, is a fine vehicle for a virtuoso player, and pianist especially. Jazz trio that is Consider Bill Evans or Keith Jarrett, or Art. Tatum. But then, Komeda was not considered a brilliant technician but rather a reflective and creative painter of moods. Anyway, here we have the audible proof of his technical prowess: crystal-clear runs with each note pronounced distinctly; chordal components perfectly balanced…Yes, Komeda was a pianist no doubt about this and he would become a perfect one, were it not for two “obstacles”: his talent and flair in composition and his tragic, premature death. Komeda partners in these recordings are rhythm-men, bassists and drummers, but bassists in the first place: Adam Skorupka and Roman ?Gucio” Dyl g. In some six pieces Bert Rosengren, the Swedish eminent tenorman joins the Trio.” – Editorial Reviews/Amazon.

Track listing:

01 Ballad for Bernt 0:00
02 Crazy Girl 3:29
03 Typish Jazz 6:13
04 Moja Ballada 9:49
05 Get Out of Town 13:29
06 Cherry 17:12
07 Stella by Starlight 20:24
08 Fourth 26:41
09 An Oscar for a Devil 28:39
10 For Heaven’s Sake 35:10
11 Three Little Words 40:18
12 Stella by Starlight 45:50
13 This or This 48:29
14 Sophia’s Tune 56:40


A. Skorupka (tracks: 4, 5, 7 to 13), J. Kozlowski (tracks: 14), R. Dylag (tracks: 1 to 3, 6) – bass
A. Zielinski (tracks: 4, 5, 8, 12 to 13), C. Bartkowski (tracks: 14), L. Dudziak (tracks: 1 to 3, 6, 7, 9 to 11) – drums
K. Komeda Quintet (tracks: 14) – ensemble
J. Gaurley (tracks: 10, 11) – guitar
K. Komeda – piano
B. Rosengren (tracks: 2, 3, 7, 9), M. Urbaniak (tracks: 14) – tenor saxophone
T.Stanko  (tracks: 14) – trumpet


Label: Power Bros Records ‎– PB 00145
Format: CD, Compilation
Country: Poland
Released: 1996