Johnny Lytle Trio – Moon Child

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Moon Child is the fourth album led by American jazz vibraphonist Johnny Lytle which was recorded in 1962 for the Jazzland label.

The Allmusic site awarded the album 4 stars stating “Moon Child is a perfect example of how instrumental jazz can have commercial appeal without losing its integrity”.



Track listing:
All compositions by Johnny Lytle except as indicated

“Moonchild” – 4:39
“Work Song” (Nat Adderley) – 6:38
“The Nearness of You” (Hoagy Carmichael, Ned Washington) – 4:28
“The Moor Man” – 4:02
“A Taste of Honey” (Bobby Scott, Ric Marlow) – 4:36
“When My Dreamboat Comes Home” (Cliff Friend, Dave Franklin) – 4:32
“Moonlight In Vermont” (John Blackburn, Karl Suessdorf) – 4:27
“The House Of Winchester” – 4:19

Johnny Lytle – vibraphone
Milton Harris – organ
Steve Cooper – bass
William “Peppy” Hinnant – drums
Ray Barretto – congas


Released: 1962
Recorded: July 5, 1962
New York City
Label: Jazzland
JLP 81
Producer: Orrin Keepnews