Johnny ‘Hammond’ Smith ‎– Love Potion #9 (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Love Potion #9 is an album by jazz organist Johnny “Hammond” Smith recorded for the Prestige label in 1966.

“A fairly typical mid-’60s soul-jazz effort by Johnny “Hammond” Smith. This LP (not yet reissued on CD) features Smith performing several current pop tunes – including “A Taste of Honey,” “The Impossible Dream,” “Sunny,” and “The Shadow of Your Smile” – while letting his quintet (which also includes trumpeter Virgil Jones, tenor saxophonist Gene Walker, guitarist Eddie Diehl, and drummer John Harris) stretch out on “Blues on Sunday” and “Up Comes Monday.” Since there is less than half-an-hour of music here and nothing unexpected occurs, this is just an average outing, although it should please jazz organ fans.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
Love Potion #9” (Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller) – 2:50
“A Taste of Honey” (Bobby Scott, Ric Marlow) – 3:20
“The Impossible Dream” (Mitch Leigh, Joe Darion) – 3:10
“Blues on Sunday” (Johnny “Hammond” Smith) – 5:10
“Sunny” (Bobby Hebb) – 3:10
“The Shadow of Your Smile” (Johnny Mandel, Paul Francis Webster) – 3:40
“Kimberly’s Delight” (Johnny “Hammond” Smith) – 2:50
“Up Comes Monday” (Johnny “Hammond” Smith) – 5:30

Johnny “Hammond” Smith – organ
Virgil Jones – trumpet
Gene Walker – tenor saxophone
Eddie Diehl – guitar
John Harris – drums


Released: 1967
Recorded: September 28, 1966
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Length: 29:40
Label: Prestige
PR 7482
Producer: Cal Lampley