Johnny Griffin – Do Nothing ‘Til You Hear from Me (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Do Nothing ’til You Hear from Me i s an album by jazz saxophonist Johnny Griffin which was recorded in 1963 and released on the Riverside label.

“Johnny Griffin, known as the world’s fastest tenor-saxophonist in the late 1950’s, purposely slowed down a bit on some of his later Riverside albums including this set which was reissued on a 1998 CD. Griffin is joined by pianist Buddy Montgomery (who switches to vibes on two of the six numbers), bassist Monk Montgomery (heard in a rare outing on acoustic bass) and drummer Art Taylor. They perform four standards (including “The Midnight Sun Will Never Set” and “That’s All”) and a couple of Griffin’s basic originals. The music swings and the classic tenorman cuts loose a few times, making for enjoyable if not quite essential music.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“Do Nothing till You Hear from Me” (Duke Ellington, Bob Russell) – 5:37
“The Midnight Sun Will Never Set” (Dorcas Cochran, Quincy Jones, Henri Salvador) – 4:59
“That’s All” (Alan Brandt, Bob Haymes) – 6:24
“Slow Burn” (Johnny Griffin) – 8:14
“Wonder Why” (Nicholas Brodzsky, Sammy Cahn) – 5:23
“Heads Up” (Johnny Griffin)- 5:36

Johnny Griffin – tenor saxophone
Buddy Montgomery – vibraphone, piano
Monk Montgomery – bass
Art Taylor – drums


Released: 1963
Recorded: 1963
New York
Length: 38:41
Label: Riverside
RLP 462
Producer: Orrin Keepnews