Johnny Griffin Quartet – The Kerry Dancers (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The Kerry Dancers (subtitled and Other Swinging Folk) is an album by jazz saxophonist Johnny Griffin which was recorded in late 1961 and early 1962 and released on the Riverside label.

“Many straight-ahead bop musicians would never consider recording traditional folk songs from the British Isles, but that’s exactly what Johnny Griffin does on The Kerry Dancers and Other Swinging Folk — and this Orrin Keepnews-produced album just happens to be one of his best releases of the 1960s. Joined by pianist Barry Harris, bassist Ron Carter, and drummer Ben Riley, the big-toned Chicago tenor man turns his attention to four traditional folk melodies: “The Londonderry Air” (also known as “Danny Boy”), “Green Grow the Rushes” (a Scottish favorite), “The Kerry Dancers” (an Irish piece), and “Black Is the Color of My True Love’s Hair” — all of which work perfectly well in an acoustic jazz setting. Not everything on this album (which was recorded in late 1961 and early 1962) is a folk song from the British Isles; the other half of the album ranges from Griffin’s moody “Oh, Now I See” to the John Coltrane-influenced “25 1/2 Daze.” On Riverside’s original LP version of this album, Griffin’s bop interpretations of folk songs were confined to side one — while the other material was placed on side two. But when Fantasy reissued this album on CD in 2001 on its Original Jazz Classics imprint, there was no interruption between the folk and non-folk material — you no longer had to get up and turn the record over. And that’s just as well, because Griffin brings a jazz mentality to everything on the album; he is as hard-swinging and improvisatory on “The Londonderry Air” as he is on “25 1/2 Daze” and “Oh, Now I See.” The Kerry Dancers and Other Swinging Folk is among the many Griffin releases that the Chicagoan can be proud of.” – Alex Henderson/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“The Kerry Dancers” (Traditional) – 4:44
“Black Is the Color of My True Love’s Hair” (Traditional) – 6:15
“Green Grow the Rushes” (Traditional) – 4:38
“The Londonderry Air” (Traditional) – 4:54
“25½ Daze” (Sara Cassey) – 4:42
“Oh, Now I See” (Johnny Griffin) – 5:11
“Hush-a-Bye” (Traditional) – 4:56
“Ballad for Monsieur” (Cassey) – 3:35

Recorded at Plaza Sound Studios in New York City on December 21, 1961 (tracks 2, 6 & 7), January 5, 1962 (tracks 3, 5 & 8) and January 29, 1962 (tracks 1 & 4).

Johnny Griffin — tenor saxophone
Barry Harris – piano
Ron Carter – bass
Ben Riley – drums


Released: 1962
Recorded: December 21, 1961 and January 5 & 29, 1962
Plaza Sound Studios, New York City
Length: 38:55
Label: Riverside
RLP 420
Producer: Orrin Keepnews