John Coltrane Quartet – Love

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


From the album “First Meditations”.

First Meditations (for quartet) is an album by John Coltrane recorded on September 2, 1965 and posthumously released in 1977. It is a quartet version of a suite Coltrane would record as Meditations two months later with the additions of Pharoah Sanders as a second tenor saxophone and Rashied Ali on drums. Along with Sun Ship, recorded a week earlier, First Meditations represents the final recordings of Coltrane’s classic quartet featuring bassist Jimmy Garrison, drummer Elvin Jones and pianist McCoy Tyner. The “Meditations” suite on this album consists of five movements, and is similar in musical character to the individual pieces on Sun Ship. “Love” and “Serenity” are both free-form pieces with no fixed tempo or chord progression in the traditional jazz sense. “Consequences” is a high-intensity, up tempo piece that closely resembles the title track from Sun Ship, with a theme consisting only of a brief, repetitive staccato phrase, and with an “extreme” solo from Coltrane featuring altissimo-register playing and multiphonics.

John Coltrane – tenor saxophone
Jimmy Garrison – double bass
Elvin Jones – drums
McCoy Tyner – piano


Released: December 1977
Recorded: September 2, 1965
Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs
Label: Impulse!
Producer: Bob Thiele